Kickin’ back

I’ve got my drink of choice poured, a good stiff 7&7, kickin’ back in my chair at my computer. What a fucking day! I work in a metal shop, been doing it for just over 20 years. Up until a year ago, I’ve spent most of my time on the shop floor, sure as safety director I had a little admin time, but the majority of my time was on the floor. Whether it was fabricating, welding, overseeing daily operations, programming robots, or pushing that special project through, I was in the pits with everyone else.

A year ago I was moved into the office fulltime. We needed a laser programmer and I had just enough on the job training and seniority to get the spot. Today a lot more was added to my work load. Our GM gave his 2 weeks notice and most of what he had to do just got put on my plate. I can’t complain, it just means more hours, more responsibility, and more time staring at a computer. It helps that a nice raise came with it!

Yet with all that’s going on at the shop, the only thing I keep thinking about is getting my scoot out of the garage and riding! Cabin fever has set in full force and I want out on the road. We’ve had enough decent days this winter to a few miles on, but it’s also been something of a tease. Now we’re almost to March, the temp has dropped to almost 20*F and the forecast is for more cold and snow. Fuck.

I think I need another drink….

Kickin’ back

Leave a comment